Nilgiri Mountain Railway

Added by superadmin on September 11, 2012. · No Comments · Share this Post

Filed under History, India, Latest Posts, Steam

Nilgiri Mountain Railway on the biggest bridge.

A journey by the NMR provides spectacular views of the Nilgiri Hills.

Nilgiri Mountain Railway steam locomotive.

The Nilgiri Passenger at Ooty Railway station.

The Nilgiri Passenger at Ketti Railway Station.

The Nilgiri Mountain Railway X class from Mettupalayam, Coimbatore to Ooty–Kerala Connections.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Share into that BigPicture-Share zone

The Nilgiri Mountain Railway (NMR) is a railway in Tamil Nadu, India, built by the British in 1908, and was initially operated by the Madras Railway. The railway still relies on its fleet of steam locomotives.

In July 2005, UNESCO added the Nilgiri Mountain Railway as an extension to the World Heritage Site of Darjeeling Himalayan Railway. The site then became known as “Mountain Railways of India.” For the past several years diesel locomotives have taken over from steam on the section between Coonoor and Udhagamandalam. Local people and tourists have led a demand for steam locomotives to once again haul this section. The famous Hindi song “Chaiyya Chaiyya” from the film “Dil Se” featuring Shahrukh Khan was shot on the roof top of NMR.

The route

The ‘Nilagiri Passenger’ train covers a distance of 26 miles (41.8 km), travels through 208 curves, 16 tunnels, and 250 bridges. The uphill journey takes around 4.8 hours, and the downhill journey takes 3.6 hours. It has the steepest track in Asia with a maximum gradient of 8.33%.

View Larger Map

The stations

  • Mettupalayam (Coimbatore)
  • Kallar Station
  • Adderly Station
  • Hillgrove Station
  • Runneymede Station
  • Kateri Road Station
  • Coonoor Station
  • Wellington Station
  • Aruvankadu Station
  • Ketti Station
  • Lovedale Station
  • Udhagamandalam Station

Television film

In the UK, the BBC made a series of three documentaries in cooperations with Indian Hill Railways, with the NMR being featured in the second program shown in February 2010. The first film covered the Darjeeling–Himalayan Railway and the third the Kalka-Shimla Railway. The films were directed by Tarun Bhartiya, Hugo Smith and Nick Mattingly, and produced by Gerry Troyna. The series won the UK Royal Television Society Award in June 2010.

Coonoor station was one of two used as locations in David Lean’s film A Passage to India. Ketti station was used as the location in a malayalam film Summer in Bethlehem

Other tourist trains in India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>